Mourning Dove Mysteries Series of Novels

Novels in the Mourning Dove Mysteries series feature Emory Rome, a Tennessee Bureau of Investigation special agent who solves bizarre murders in the Smoky Mountains. 

  1. Murder on the Lake of Fire (2017)
  2. Death Opens a Window (scheduled to publish October 19, 2018)
  3. Book 3 (2019)
  4. Book 4 (2020)
  5. Book 5 (2020)
  6. Book 6 (2021)
  7. Book 7 (2022)
  8. Book 8 (2022)

Murder on the Lake of Fire

 At 23 and with a notorious case under his belt, Emory Rome has already garnered fame as a talented special agent for the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation. His career is leapfrogging over his colleagues, but the jumping stops when he’s assigned a case he fought to avoid – an eerie murder in the Smoky Mountain hometown he had abandoned. The mysterious death of an ice-skater once destined for the pros is soon followed by an apparent case of spontaneous human combustion. In a small town bursting with friends and foes, Rome’s own secrets lie just beneath the surface. The rush to find the murderer before he strikes again pits him against artful private investigator Jeff Woodard. The PI is handsome, smart and seductive, and he just might be the killer Rome is seeking. 

Death Opens a Window

Emory Rome is back in the follow-up to the national bestseller Murder on the Lake of Fire

 As he struggles with the consequences of his last case, Emory must unravel the inexplicable death of a federal employee in a Knoxville high-rise. But while the reticent investigator is mired in a deep pool of suspects – from an old mountain witch to the powerful Tennessee Valley Authority – he misses a greater danger creeping from the shadows. The man in the ski mask returns to reveal himself, and the shocking crime of someone close is unearthed.  

 Death Opens a Window, Book 2 of the Mourning Dove Mysteries and the sequel to Murder on the Lake of Fire, will be available everywhere October 19. 

Murder on the Lake of Fire Hits #1

On February 15, 2018, Murder on the Lake of Fire claimed the No. 1 spot on Amazon's Best Sellers in the Mystery and PI categories.


Check out the galleries from our events.


Shop for Mourning Dove Mysteries and Mourning Dove Investigations merchandise.